top of page

Interview With Author Victoria Kaer



What is your name (the one you write under) and what genre/s do you write?

Victoria Kaer. I write in a several different genres, YA Fantasy, Teen Fiction, Dystopian, Mystery/Thriller, and Paranormal


How long have you been writing for and how did you begin your writing journey?

I wrote a little in high school but stopped due to a less than encouraging English teacher. I started up again in earnest in 2009 and have been writing ever since.


Which of your characters is your favorite to write and why?

I really enjoyed writing Risleigh Caulfield in my Merlin's Chosen series. He began as somewhat of a throwaway character meant to fill in the gap after the previous villains were done away with. He turned into so much more, people think authors are nuts when we say our characters speak to us but it's true. Risleigh had a backstory that explained why he had turned out the way he was and he wanted it to be told. It spawned the fifth book in the series where he returns to seek help from those he wronged.


Which of your books or series was your favorite to create and write?

That's difficult to say, I enjoyed writing all of them but Merlin's Chosen was the first thing I ever published so it holds a special place in my heart. That Someone is also very special to me because it deals with loss. My best friend passed away my freshman year of high school so it's a very personal subject to me.


What do you do when a new idea pops up and you're still in the middle of your current book, do you chase that squirrel or complete your current project first?

Depends on the squirrel and how badly it wants attention lol


What do you enjoy the most about writing in your genre/s?

I love the fact that fiction, no matter the genre, means you can take some liberties with things. It means a bigger sense of freedom than non-fiction writing. I love creating worlds readers want to get lost in and characters they can identify with on some level.


Tell readers something unique or fun about yourself or your writing process.

I'm not sure there's much unique about me or my writing process. I am very much a non-plotter when it comes to my writing. I begin with whatever small idea I have and simply run with it. Merlin's Chosen began as an idea for a trilogy and wound up being 8 books long, with a 9th one currently in the wings waiting to be written. The only idea I had for the story was what ended up being the first chapter of book 1 (the prologue came much latter in the process). I had no character names, nothing but that idea of her walking home and something following her, at the time I didn't even have a clue what exactly was following her. I just sat down and began writing with no idea where it was going to go.


Is there something readers can take away from your writing or characters?

I like to write a a lot of dark or damaged characters who are struggling to get past whatever they're wrestling with. Whether it's the urge to commit evil or a physical or mental handicap. I want people to know they aren't alone and there is light at the end of the tunnel, it may simply take a little longer to find it that you'd like.


What do you know now about writing/publishing that you wish you knew when you published your first book?

I wish I had understood more about the publishing process, it would have saved me a lot of time and frustration. If I had done a little more research it would have helped immensely. Self-publishing was mostly in its infancy when I began and there wasn't as much information available about the process, I went in mostly blind, and made a lot of mistakes.


What advice would you give to those thinking about writing their first book?

Find author groups in your area and join them. It might be intimidating to share with others but you need those honest opinions to move forward, even if it isn't what you'd like to hear. Listen and learn before you decide to publish and when you do publish, make your work as professionally put together as you can. Edit, format and get a good cover made so your book will look as put together and professional as possible and will attract readers. If you can, find beta readers to get an honest opinion of the book as well before you publish it. And always, keep reading.


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page